Be japy

I stumbled across this video doing the rounds on facebook and thought it was decent enough to give it a share.

This whole concept of ‘random acts of kindness’ (which are not random at all) is becoming very popular at the moment. If you recall, when the ‘neck-nominate’ fad was popular some people were countering it with nominating people to do random acts of kindness. I believe this is fantastic, and while I don’t think we should video every act of kindness we do, I feel that sometimes a video can encourage us all to rethink our attitude towards kindness.

I am an evangelical Christian, and sometimes, us evangelicals can get caught up in wrong theology. It is easy to get caught up in the mindset that if an action doesn’t lead someone to Christ it is worthless. This can sometimes be a crippling attitude to have, and may limit or even prevent us from doing anything good unless we can justify it with some sort of full on gospel presentation. Please do not misunderstand what I am saying; as the one need humanity has is to hear the gospel. BUT I believe we must reconsider of approach at times. It is not bad to do nice things. It is not worthless to see someone who is struggling, suffering or in need and help them in an immediate way. Just check out Jesus as an example. Feeding the 5,000, turning water into wine, or his many acts of healing. While these acts of extreme kindness were not the message, these actions pointed to who he was.

In the same way our actions point to the kind of people we are.

1 John 4 talks about what love is. Love is an action. We know what love is because of Jesus and his action love. We have a message, but does our message contain an action also?

I find these reminders that we can do some good for others by meeting an immediate need extremely helpful. It challenges my heart for the world. If I don’t look at their immediate struggles and feel a strong urge to help I doubt my heart really yearns for them to be helped by the gospel.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Archives
Great film
