Heidelberg Catechism Question 4 and 5

Q. What does God’s law require of us?

A. Christ teaches us that is summary in Matthew 22-“Love the lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. This is the first commandment. And the second is like it: love your neighbour as yourself. All the law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

Q. Can you live up to this perfectly?

A. No. I have a natural tendency to hate God and my neighbour

(Notice the word “hate.” I reckon we dislike using this word when it comes to God, but the law shows us just how true that is. Kevin DeYoung has written a commentary on this catechism where he highlights how far we fall short of the law.”The law doesn’t inspire me to be a better person or find God within me. The law beats me down and shows me how miserable I am.” Tough words Kev.

The law isn’t the bad thing, we are. The law is great and shows us just how great God is. Jesus lived by it. But we don’t.

“Most of us can’t keep our houses clean like we want, or stick to a budget like we desire, or manage our time like we mean to. So what makes us think we can live like Jesus and do everything a Holy God requires of us?”

True words. It’s not about what I can do for Jesus but it’s seeing everything Jesus has done for me.)

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Archives
One lucky fella
