Rescuing Ambition

Rescuing Ambition. I wasn’t aware ambition was in need of rescuing. Why didn’t anybody tell me ambition was in danger? I would have tried to have helped if I had known! Shut up Jamie. Ok.

Anyway, last week I had the immense privilege to attend the Sovereign Grace Ministries Church Planting Conference, [co]mission. It was great, not in the lose term that is so widely fielded amongst our heavily literate disabled generation but the very real way where great is great (dictionary example – wonderful; first rate; very good: We had a great time.That’s great!).

Dave Harvey was one of the main speakers and I was gripped by what God said through him. I was so challenged about glory. We are all glory chasers, Dave explained to us. We all seek glory, it’s like our default setting. We are wired for glory. Glory is not the problem, it’s where we look for it that causes us pain. The place we find true glory is in the personification of Jesus Christ, but we look for glory in our selves. We want the praise and the fame.

Back to the book. This book is basically (at least to the point where I have read)  Dave’s

This is what Dave looks like

preach extended, but in a good way. I would definitely recommend it. I would also recommend you read a proper review of the book over at Dave Bish’s blog.

So buy the book. Consume it. Enjoy it. Be challenged by it. And if you want any more convincing, it is forwarded by CJ so you can’t go far wrong.

www.rescuingambition.com

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Rescuing Ambition
  1. Jon says:

    I’ve recently finished big Dave’s book on marriage and it was ggggreat as tony the tiger would say.

    It’s great to see how the gospel applies to every single corner of our lives and re-shapes our thinking about everything.

    Look forward to getting my hands on this book at some point.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Archives
One lucky fella
