Relay Three

I promised earlier in the week to put up some thoughts from the final Relay conference. So here goes.

What feels like a while ago, but was actually last week, I joined up with the other Relay workers from across the UK (and Ireland) to participate in our final conference for our Relay year. I was wondering what on earth we would be doing. We only have three weeks left, surely if you have something to say that would be beneficial we could have done with hearing it a little earlier?

I can safely say what I learnt was not only beneficial, but it came at the right time. We were looking at 1 Corinthians 12 to 14, and the church.

So what it the role of the Church? – To proclaim the lordship of Christ.

The way the church does this will vary and there is no one model to follow. So my involvement in church must contribute in proclaiming Christ as lord. Correct.

But one great way we saw how this could be done is through weakness. There seems to be a pressure to be strong in church, but actually being weak is ok, in fact that is the Gospel. And when it comes to weak people our reaction should not be to fix them but to love them.

Another challenge was our giftings. We should not be going into our churches declaring what are gifts are, as if the church should be thankful for having a Relay worker in membership. Actually our gifting should be decided by the church. Where does the church want me to serve?

I will continue to update the blog with thoughts from Relay Three, but I need to pray and apply it a bit more first.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Series

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Archives
One lucky fella
