Unearthing What I Believe And Why It Matters…

I got very excited yesterday when finally I managed to get my grubby hands on a copy of Josh Harris’ book, ‘Dug Down Deep.’ I have had to exercise a measure of self control not to read this book four months ago, but the time has come for me to demolish the pages and enjoy the bad boy.

There is a quality excerpt from  the book that I want to share (and if you have seen the video you will be familiar with this).

I’ve come to learn that theology matters. And it matters not because wewant a good grade on a test but because what we know about God shapes the way we think and live. What you believe about God’s nature—what he is like, what he wants from you, and whether or not you will answer to him—affects every part of your life.

Theology matters, because if we get it wrong, then our whole life will be wrong. . . .

Knowledge doesn’t have to be dry and lifeless. And when you think about it, exactly what is our alternative? Ignorance? Falsehood? We’re either building our lives on the reality of what God is truly like and what he’s about, or we’re basing our lives on our own imagination and mis-conceptions.

We’re all theologians. The question is whether what we know about God is true.

When you think of theology you might think of people like Grudem. Massive books, hard to read. That need not be the case. Harris makes it clear that any observation about God (even if it’s false or negative) comes under theology. The danger is that a wrong study of God leads to getting our lives wrong.

I have had the opportunity to take more time to study God this year on Relay. I have been able to read Grudem, and to read other books. I have had time to dedicate to reading God’s Word and studying it in detail. I have been able to put into practice what I have learnt alongside students and teenagers. Theology is not boring, at least it doesn’t have to be.

This next year I wont have the time to read as much, and I wont be a ‘professional Christian.’ But the challenge is to remain a theologian, as this is a joy of being a Christ follower. I don’t need to lock myself away with Calvin and Grudem, I can delight in knowing God even when I am busy. He has given us His Word. Read it, eat it, digest it, and repeat.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Unearthing What I Believe And Why It Matters…
  1. markyleong says:

    Amen to that! Glad you are benefiting from Harris’ writing. I haven’t read Dug Down Deep, but have been blessed by some of the other books he has written.

  2. Jen says:

    Spot on James T 🙂 Particularly wise last paragraph.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
