My contribution to salvation

‘The only thing of my very own which I contribute to my redemption is…

…the sin from which I need to be redeemed.’  (William Temple)

For a moment, did you wonder if the reason I hadn’t been blogging for a while was because I’d turned liberal and fallen out of favour with Mr Hurd?

Mikey Chalmers mentioned the above quote earlier today and thought it was worth remembering and sharing. To delight in the truth of what they call ‘double imputation’ in the world of systematic theologies, in other words  ‘God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.’ (2 Cor. 5v21).

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “My contribution to salvation
  1. jamiehurd says:

    about time…quality though. Cheers mate

  2. Stefan Eicholz says:

    What about repentance and baptism then? Do we not have to do them?

    It says in Acts 5:31, 11:18; 2Tim 2:25 that repentance is a gift from God, but surely it’s nonetheless something we have to actively do? If not, why would God give us in scripture a evangelistic model of preaching the gospel and calling people to repentance (Acts 26:19; Acts 2.38)? I think there is a tension there that is difficult to ignore. Also, it is pretty clear in scripture that baptism is a necessary response to the gospel (Matt 28.19; Acts 2.38).

    I fear you may dismiss what I’ve written as the unbiblical musings of a raving liberal arminian heretic! Please don’t. If we disagree we should be discussing the issues in a loving, gentle and humble way rather than attacking each other. If you disagree, tell me, and maybe we can learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
