Post V of NWA Stewarding: The finger…

I cannot quite believe that we have reached Saturday without mentioning the finger. On arrival to NWA HQ on Monday we were lectured in everything stewarding related Hand signals, first aid, which end of a broom to hold. You know, the dynamic skills needed to be a successful and ambitious steward.

This led to possibly one of the most bizarre events to take place that I have ever experienced. What do you do when a child is lost. Ok, big stuff here. Must pay attention. This is the drill in such a situation:

  1. You radio the big cheese; let them know what is going down.
  2. You find that lot little child.
  3. Once found – here comes the most important part – you must never give that child a fist, only the finger! You what?? Yes, a finger (insert choice finger for demonstration).

To this day I still am not entirely sure what they meant. But this story links into another one nicely. One steward, a good friend, James Potts had an incident involving a concrete block which left James’ toe bloodied and according to James it left the concrete considerably smaller. I rushed to the scene (I was already there otherwise I probably wouldn’t have bothered) and put into action my skills.

  1. I hand signalled for help.
  2. When help arrived we radioed into HQ.
  3. I didn’t give James a fist, I gave him my finger.

No, no. Not the fist...

...you may have the finger

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in Series
2 comments on “Post V of NWA Stewarding: The finger…
  1. Larry says:

    HEHEHEHEH. genius.

  2. Emma says:

    Do you think it has something to do with how it looks like you’re leading the child around if you hold their hand (as that is the basic idea when you hold the hand of a child) whereas if you let them hold your finger, the child has control over whether or not it wants to hold on to you. Since you’re not the parent of the child it might put others at ease? I dunno. I think this whole “anybody could be a pedophile/terrorist/non well-meaning person” takes things a bit too far sometimes. I’m surprised they never explained the reason behind it really.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
