Post IV of NWA Stewarding: To be a steward or not to be a steward, that is the question

A game of footy amongst some of the stewarding team

The more time that elapses the end of NWA the more reduced my memory becomes of what actually happened. I can imagine if you have read up to this point then you would have reason to doubt the veracity of my tales. I can assure you that the stories told up until this point are authentic, even the pigeon story and especially the tights story. No amount of time will lead to a failure to remember that event, unfortunately.

By the time Friday had arrived my stewarding skills had be honed and I had begun to realise that stewarding a Christian conference could be rather difficult. No mater how the guests reacted to your polite requests, there was a desire to remember grace. I have said previously that grace, and my need for it was the biggest lesson learnt as a steward, and that became increasingly clear with the reactions to a simple request for guests of the conference to find a seat near the front. “No.” This is an answer that is difficult to reply to in grace. “No? What do you mean no?” You can push the request, but you quickly learn that some people have more respect for inanimate objects than they do for stewards. Don’t get me wrong, I am not writing to have a go, but merely to make a point. I know one thing is true in this situation. I am no better. I am not writing this on my high steward horse, rather on the contrary. This kind of reaction is a great example of grace. I am exactly the same.

I know a persons heart because I know my own heart, and its deepest sins. A guest’s failure to comply with simple rules is a great encouragement of sanctification, a work yet to be complete in us until the day Christ returns, but a work that is taking place in a saved sinners heart thanks to the great gift of grace. It did get me down when I am standing in stupid high vis vest, waving my arm about, when people blatantly ignore you., but my reaction to others actions shows me just how much I need grace. It was great then that the preaching echoed this need for grace.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Series

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Archives
One lucky fella
