Post III of NWA Stewarding: Prizes and Pigeons

It is difficult to reproduce the life of a NWA steward, mainly because it seemed to be a bit of a blur, partly because I cannot be bothered to write more than I am already. Two things I will make clear; a stewards job is never done, and a stewards job is never dull…unless you have a dull duty, then it might be dull.

I think I should have written down what we got up to, and on what day because I cannot remember. But here is something that might or might not of happened, I’m not entirely sure. Was NWA a dream?

Wednesday: Hugh was on form, really helpful thinking on church. We have churches full of people in the holding paddocks, while we should have churches full of servants serving servants. The bible shows us unbeliever and believing server, we like to see unbeliever into believer and then maybe at some point a server. So we must get rid of these paddocks.

Thursday: A good day for me. Andy (a fellow member of Team Ethnic) and myself won the sought after ‘Star Steward of the Day.’ I reacted to this with obvious humility…telling everyone I came into contact with. I’m not entirely sure why we won this prestigious award, I can only imagine it was a mistake and we actually won a camp clown award.

I enjoyed Thursday as I got to meet up with Sammy and larry. We had  drinks in the sun as we chatted through the conference, learning from what we had learnt and thinking it through into application. I always love those moments when men can man up and talk about things of the heart. Big style loving this.

The evening saw Becca Manly Pippet being interviewed. She was helpful in thinking through our evangelism, and that we shouldn’t be looking to hit and run but instead relate with people and in doing so our evangelism will be much more effective. She also made me laugh so big thumbs up.

Probably one of the most bizarre things happened to me on Thursday. Andy and myself were led to one location, and given a job that only a star steward could possibly do. Remove a pigeon from a venue. Ok. How? O right, a blanket and some flapjack. No worries.

Can I just tell you now that a blanket and some flapjack will not get rid of a pigeon, especially in the hands of two prize idiots. At one stage we resulted in reasoning with the pigeon, megaphone in hand. We did find that the pigeon responded much better to Welsh than it did to English. If only I knew how to say “get the heck out of here pigeon boy” we might have been successful. Alas, the pigeon stayed.

So by the end of Thursday i was pretty much as good as I ever would be at this stewarding malarky, and knew that one day i would sit down with my grandchildren and retell the tales of NWA stewarding. I would show them my scar, where a thorn attacked me while sweeping outdoors. I will bore them with countless exaggerated stories of how I did get rid of that pigeon and how I won star of the day everyday. But until then, there are too many witnesses to the reality of my experience so the truth will have to do.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with:
Posted in Series

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
