John Owen – Marathon Man

Back in October 2009 I purchased the works of John Owen, but ever since that autumn morning that they arrived I have been too daunted by the prospect of reading them. Each volume is huge in its self, and I’m not sure whether Mr. Owen was a fan of the full stop. His sentances are longer than my paragraphs, and his paragraphs longer than my essays.

However, the time has come. I have begun the epic journey through John Owen’s works. Number one, The Glory of Christ. What a good start, thank you Mr. Owen.

I have actually been looking forward to getting my teeth into John Owen’s works and I have finally given in and eagerly grabbed volume one. This is not a marathon, rather a collection of marathons. This is the Eddie Izzard, Marathon Man of the reading world.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in 1
3 comments on “John Owen – Marathon Man
  1. Larry says:

    Mate! Great choice, Owen is possibly my favourite Puritan. Follow the glory of Christ with “Mortification of sin” and “Communion with God”…

    Enjoy!! 😀

  2. ammanfordpastor says:

    Mate, Owen is amazing….so pastoral.
    Enjoy them!

  3. Eddie’s exploits are not to be compared to lightly…I think this is a fair comparison.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Archives
One lucky fella
