A heart for the lost

I have just been doing some prep for Jonah 4, and I have been deeply challenged by it. So often when I see the dull characters in the bible I often associate myself with them, and with Jonah here I can certainly see myself. Jonah is angry with God for sparing Nineveh and has gone off in a mood. He is angry that God has had mercy on them, a wicked city.

Part of us like to judge people like Jonah. Man, what are you doing?! God has used you in an amazing way. Man up, and grow a pair. What an idiot! [read on…]

The problem with that is the inevitability of the mirror. We may judge Jonah but actually we are a lot like him, and actually worse. Jonah is at least honest, and the fact that he wrote the book suggests that he repented and could write such honest things of himself. He makes much of God and little of himself. But how often do we have God’s heart for the lost? How often to we do what God asks us to do? I know that I am just like Jonah.

I must be motivtaed by grace. I need to see God for who he is, I need to see how he has dealt with me and through that be motivated to be obedient to him. Verse 11 sums up God, “And should not I pity Nineveh, that great city, in which there are more than 120,000 persons who do not know their right hand from their left, and also much cattle.” What mercy that God shows here, what love.

So how are you reaching the lost? Have you got God’s heart for the lost. Or do you see the conviction of reaching the lost as something you want to get off your back? A kind of one time solution. Tell someone the gospel, then the job is done. We must surely have God’s heart for the lost and pursue for that burden to get bigger and bigger, rather than to get rid of it?

We all live in communities. Whether it’s the work place, uni, sports teams, societies, friends, family, our towns, cities and villages. We all come into contact with the lost. So how can we have a heart for them, and how can we reach them and look to keep reaching them?

If you have been saved you have God living in you, Romans 8. Now there is a battle between the Spirit of God and our own spirit of the flesh. We must cry out to God, we must let him win our hearts and replace it with his own.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in General
2 comments on “A heart for the lost
  1. Larry says:

    This is why I love blogs. Few are written by geniuses, – i.e just the Beagle – but the best are written by sinners who know they screw up the smallest of challenges each and every day and constantly to remind themselves, and be reminded, of the task at ahand and the amazing, astounding, grace of God that comes for us when we were repugnant and dead.

  2. I lurv the book of Jonah.

    You’re right, we must always be weary of ‘the mirror’ and it’s interesting what you say about Jonah realizing this and writing his book.

    Liam Golliger was excellent on this in NWA last year, I blogged what challenged me most;

    “Jonah was a good, faithful prophet to the people of Israel. But when God told him to do something out his happy religious bubble the wheels come off. I’m Jonah. I’m happy for God to rule over some nice little Christian compartments in my life. God help Him if He tries to take over ‘my’ compartments! Practically this means I’ve always got to be asking myself the question, “Who am I serving in this? God or me?””

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Archives
One lucky fella
