Aim of Youth Work?

So I have been doing youth work now for a year and a half now and I am far from being any good. But I do hope I am learning from my mistakes and I am still excited about reaching young people with the gospel. This last month has led me to rethink why I do youth work, and why any church should want to. I think if we are honest our answer will be something along the lines of, “we have always had a youth group.” It might be worded better but we tend to have youth groups in our churches because we cannot remember a time when we didn’t.

Well I have been doing a lot of reading and praying about youth ministry and I have worked it out. I now know the answer. The mystery has been revealed. I do youth work because…

…I want to glorify Christ.

Now this is not amazingly profound and infact you could accuse me of using Christian ‘jargon.’ But that is my, our, the church’s mission. Not just in youth work but in every aspect of life. If we fail to glorify Christ in what we are doing then we need to change what we are doing.

With regards to youth work I could be reaching kids with the gospel in a way that does not glorify Christ. So while reaching youngsters with the gospel is vital, it cannot be the primary reason as I can dishonor Christ. So our primary aim mut always be to glorify Christ.

I also think that great youth work stems from a great walk with Christ. If we as youth leaders are not living to glorify Christ then I imagine our ministry will fail also. I think Paul was helpful when he wrote 1 Thessalonians 2:8and9.

“We loved you so much that we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well, because you had become so dear to us. 9Surely you remember, brothers, our toil and hardship; we worked night and day in order not to be a burden to anyone while we preached the gospel of God to you.”

Enjoy this video on how not to do youth work…

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Archives
One lucky fella
