Bosnia?

6a00d83451586c69e200e54f12f9d58833-800wiIf I say Eastern Europe, the first thing that comes to my mind is Borat and I then impersonate his accent for every country in the East. I just don’t seem to be able to help myself.

Maybe if I asked you to tell me what you know about Bosnia you would tell me they suffered a civil war sometime in the nineties and I wouldn’t think about going on holiday there. Well, if I am honest I don’t know much more about the country. I do know they have a very small Christian population, one figure I heard was around 600. I know that their student Christian population is also pretty small, you could count them on two hands!

But let us no concentrate too much on numbers, but instead on how God is working. I had the privilage of meeting to Bosnian pastors back in February, Sasa and Slavko, and they showed me that God loves Bosnia and he is working there.

Slavko and Sasa

Slavko and Sasa

In Slavko’s church they recently did some evangelistic events on the street of Sarajevo, during Ramadan. Bosnia has a large Islamic population, but the Lord provided and there were no problems at all. In fact many hundreds were reached with the gospel. I find that amazing.

Bosnia is a country that I have taken a personal interest in and I hope you will join me in remembering the Christians in this country in your prayers.

Please also pray for me. I am thinking about spending two years in Bosnia after relay to do relay homestart. I am finding the language difficult but not impossible. Pray that God would show me what he wants me to do.

Peace Out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with:
Posted in 1
4 comments on “Bosnia?
  1. joelforster says:

    “Hello, my name is Jamie, and I will go to Bosnia..” Yeah!! So cool to read that you’re really feeling it, man..

    Go for it! I pray for your bosnian accent!!

  2. jamiehurd says:

    I pray that you will get an English accent!

  3. Ellie says:

    I pray that you won’t mention to any Bosnians that you associate them with Borat – they’d cry!

  4. katiemccraw says:

    Hey,
    Stumbled across your blog randomly! Am thinking about going to spend a year serving with Novi Most in Bosnia and just wondering if you ever headed out there for two years?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
