Give us a song Frank

Frank SinatraThe song title, ‘I did it my way,’ by Frank Sinatra is a famous tune and one chosen to be played at half time during the Ipswich Newcastle match today, and it was done in memory of the great Sir Boby Robson. Every football fan has a soft spot for the football legend and icon, but I wonder what the song is meant to do? […]

The problem with the song is that it is a little too accurate. We too often choose to do it our way, rather than Gods way. We enjoy making our own paths and living how we want to, and that pathbobby-robson_1453950c leads to death. Our sinful nature leads us to live this way, but it’s not something to celebrate and I cannot see how this could possibly bring any comfort to the family of the great man. As I watched a strong sense of sadness swept over me that so many thousands of fans were applauding and celebrating how Bob did it his way, and all I could think of was the consequence of such an action.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Archives
One lucky fella
