Summer Time and the Weather is Fine

summerAs I enter this blog post I am finally enjoying some good weather, sitting on my mother’s patio over looking my mother’s garden enjoying the array of interesting plants and flowers, all the different colours and the lush green allure of it all, something we must all be thankful for the wet weather we have been having.

But this entry is not about my garden or plants or anything like that, but I mention it merely for the pleasure it has given me, reading outside with a nice cup of coffee and taking my holidays easy. I say easy, but the stack of summer reading is larger than my degree reading ever was. This summer I am reading Out of the Salt Shaker, Cross Examined and Disciplines of Grace. These are the books I need to read before Relay 1. I am also reading Driscoll’s Radical Reformission and Life in Christ by Ed Donnelly. […]

Maybe I am stretching myself a little too far but I also want to read some of the Crowded House stuff. I read Chester’s Busy Christians Guide to Business and thought it was APZ. But I want to read You Can Change and Total Church by the end of the holidays.

It is the Crowded House guys that this post is really about. I discoved Tim Chesters blog this week and have been looking at their web page also. This phrase ‘Missional Living’ has come up again and again. Its all about living a life surrounded by Christ.crowd

“We are committed to filling ordinary life with gospel intentionality, pastoring one another with the gospel and sharing the gospel with unbelievers. We challenge one another to be sacrificial, servant-hearted, risk-taking and flexible because the gospel has priority over our comfort, preferences, security and traditions. We will not let Christian activity be just one part of our lives.”

I have had the opportunity to attend a Crowded House Church once because my sister and brother in law are involved with the church in Loughborough. I was warmed by the welcome I received and the friendly atmosphere that surrounded the church both during the service and the bbq lunch afterwards. Its not about living a Christian life on a Sunday but all the time. Now I don’t think Crowded House are the only church doing this, I think the churches I have been involved in South Wales have been pursuing this also. But it is refreshing to see this Christ centred attitude around the UK.

I am not entirely sure about the House Church principle, maybe it works in some places but I am just not sure it would work in most of the churches in South Wales, though maybe it would suit mid Wales a lot more? I don’t know, but I look forward to reading Total Church and also seeing my sister and brother in law soon to share fellowship and the like.

APZ and Peace Out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in 1
3 comments on “Summer Time and the Weather is Fine
  1. Larry says:

    Good quote, – and long reading list. I’ll find you at Forum and see how far you got with it! 🙂

  2. jamiehurd says:

    finally i will meet Larry, this is a big occasion.

  3. Larry says:

    Um. I sense this will be horribly anticlimatic if you’re thinking it will be a “Big occasion”…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
