Hear All About It!

newspaperThis afternoon I made myself a coffee, made myself comfortable and began to read today’s paper. In an attempt to create an intellectual persona towards ones self I have become mildly interested in current affairs and as a result found myself participating in the broadsheet culture of fellow graduates. What a pompous lot we are.

So what did I learn from today’s exercise? Well I now know that England’s ‘Barmy Army’ cricket fans are nothing but boorish and chauvinistic. I know that bankers are continuing to rewarded with seven figure bonuses despite the current economic turmoil that we have found ourselves in. I have even discovered how absurd and unfair the treaty between the US and Britain over extradition is, with particular attention surrounding computer hacker Gary McKinnon, and how it should be amended or maybe got rid of due to the outrage of the treaty which Americans fail to reciprocate. Britain’s willingness to please the neighbours across the Atlantic remind us of Britain and America’s one sided relationship over the last decade or so.

So all this I have learnt today. I think its important to be up to date with the world, but I couldn’t help but extendBig Trouble frustration over what I had read. Bankers failing to take responsibility for their actions, pompous annoyance at a modern cricket generation and a injustice at every turn. Need I say it? The Gospel surely is our only hope. The newspapers are only reporting on what s happening. We often hear the criticism that papers only report the bad news because it sells papers, but whether they do or not we know this world is not right. From the simplest of disputes amongst friends to an increasing death toll in Afghanistan we know that deep down (Houston) we have a problem. What is our response to this? Try harder? Give up?

Well Jesus is the answer (It’s like being in Sunday school).

We know that there is a problem with this world, and with us. It’s called sin. And why can we not make the world right? It’s simple. We exist. As long as we exist, sin exists and this world will be far from perfect.

But there was one person. A man by the name of  Jesus. He lived a life without sin, perfect in every way. With his life he gave it up for sinful men. Colossians 1:21-23 sums up what Christ did for those who trust him.

And you who once were alienated and hostile in mind, doing evil deeds, 22 he has now reconciled in his body of flesh by his death, in order to present you holy and blameless and above reproach before him, 23 if indeed you continue in the faith, stable and steadfast, not shifting from the hope of the gospel that you heard, which has been proclaimed in all creation under heaven, and of which I, Paul, became a minister.

APZ

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Archives
One lucky fella
