Carry on Camping

The Team

The Team

So this last week I have been on an EMW (Evangelical Movement of Wales) camp for kids ages 10 to 12. I didn’t know what to expect from it but it exceeded my expectations. My friend, boss and pastor Jonathan Thomas was the chaplain for the week and he had some very clear talks over the week, showing us how we are justified by faith in Gods grace as well as what it means to be obedient as a Christian. We looked at total deprivation as well as imputed righteousness. What was great was that it was done in a way that even I could understand it as well as the kids. […]

The talks were based on the life of Noah, and Jon came up with a High Seas Musical theme, which somehow included me dressing up as a cheerleader every morning, which would be ok if the outfit hadn’t been aged 8 to 10 years. But it was fun and more importantly powerful.

The dance

The dance

Bible studies were APZ (for those who are unaware what this term means, it translates as awesome!). Even though some kids were very young, others from non church backgrounds it was an amazing sight when some of these characters grasped the gospel. It makes all the hard work so worth it.

Camp = Fun. There was so much to do. I was covered in porridge, apparently had a baby out of my armpit, dressed up as a cheer leader, did a High School Musical dance with two 11 year old boys, was a sea monster in LC2, are troll in a fairytale, a Kaiser Chief and so much more. I had more fun than I can begin to describe.

Jon and me line dancing

Jon and me line dancing

The leadership team was brilliant. There was just a great atmosphere amongst the team and we had the same focus. To bring the gospel to the campers. Everyone worked hard, played hard and fun was had by all. I have made friends that I hope to stay in contact with. Bring on the reunion and also the next camp.

Porridge, gaffa tape and my skin

Porridge, gaffa tape and my skin

APZ

Jamie

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Archives
It's like a glimpse into my future #notlongnow
