Tour de Life

tdf2Now it is that time of year again where I get addicted to road cycling. The Tour de France  only started on the 4th July, and we have seen nine stages come and go so far, yet I have been donning the lycra and getting out on the bike in an attempt to reconstruct  some of the classic races. Just on Saturday, while cycling the rainy streets on busy Swansea  over taking those dirty car drivers building up their carbon footprint, I had my ‘King of the Mountains’ jersey on and some fat, bald fella shouted, “Mate, ya meana be in the Pyrenees!” in a hilarious Swansea accent, which I thought was a bit rich coming from a guy who obviously hasn’t partaken much physical activity this side of the creation. But none the less I enjoyed myself, getting extremely wet from the rain.

So the question is who will win? Will it be Lance ‘7 times Tour champion after recovering from extreme testicular, lung and brain cancer’ Armstrong, or maybe Alberto ‘the little Spaniard’ Contador. Who knows. Maybe Cadel Evans can finally win it, or could last year’s winner Sastre win yet again? Who knows. But all this lycra and ridiculously hardcore cycling has got me thinking about the Tour de Life.Lance-Armstrong_jpg […]

While the Tour de France has a reputation for being the most physical event in sporting history, with 180 riders cycling around 2,175 miles over 21 stages keeping an average speed of 25 mph. This includes some almost impossible mountain stages in the Alps and the Pyranees. Yet there is something much more important, much more rewarding and glorifies God. It’s the Tour de Life, or the Christian life as we may know it.

Life offers ups and downs. Good times and bad times. Walking with Jesus can sometimes be an enjoyable flat stage with few obstacles (or mountains) getting in our way. Other times we can be faced with life’s Alps, times of suffering and struggles. But the prize is Jesus. Like Paul said, ‘to die is gain, but to live is Christ.’

So I have no secret formula on how to complete the tour, or how to become a king of the mountains in life, but I know that we must stay focused on Christ. I am still riding the tour and I haven’t been dropped from the peloton (will be explained later) yet. I know I will struggle, but I trust God will help me, he will not make it easy but I will trust Him.

Watch out as I continue my Tour de France themed blogging.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Archives
It's like a glimpse into my future #notlongnow
