Youth Work

I am sitting in the Ammanford church office, cup of tea in hand, finishing off all the prep for this evening’s youth. XXXL t-shirts, check. Balloons, check. Talk, check. Funny youth video impersonating the attitudes of the characters in the prodigal son story, check ( I know the last one was not as catchy).

All in the name of youth work

All in the name of youth work

But I have almost been a youth worker for a year now and I am wondering what I am meant to have achieved. A godly youth group, strong on doctrine (dare I say Calvinistic), a strong experiential salvation pursuing to please the Lord in all that they do. If this is my aim I have failed miserably. I would be bold enough to say that most of the youth are not saved.

However, my aim as a youth worker has been to be faithful to the Lord. To teach his word and to proclaim the gospel in a way that he gets the glory. Now I am not saying that I am an excellent speaker and that my words shake the room. Instead what I am saying is my words are the Gospel and that is what is so important. My aim is to preach the Gospel. It comes back to the parable of the sower. I plant the seed but God gives it growth. This applies to both the Christian and non-Christian youth. It is their responce after every talk that is important. Do they harden their hearts or are they obeying the Lord?

I pray that HE will be the centre of my youth ministry. So often I can try and rely on myself to get through a Friday, but without HIM I have no hope. This past year has been such an enjoyable and rewarding year, even with its challenges and tough obstacles, and I look forward to what the next year of youth work entails.

Peace Out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 1
4 comments on “Youth Work
  1. jonnyboy87 says:

    haha thats a great photo! very thoughful piece. reminds me of that saying…

    Pray as if everything depends on God. Act as if everything depends on you.

    Could open up a whole discussion / blog post about whether that is a biblical saying!!

  2. I want to see this video!

  3. Larry says:

    i want to know how on earth you managed to get away with drinking tea under the nose of Pastor – i love coffee more than coffee’s mum does – Jon

  4. jamiehurd says:

    Haha Larry, I know what you mean. I wonder if Jon would preach and drink coffee if he could get away with it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
