Who hardened Pharaoh’s heart?

pharaohNow many of us will be familiar with the book of Exodus and how Pharaoh’s heart was hard towards letting the Israelites go. Now ultimately God hardened Pharaoh’s heart, but Pharaoh hardened his own heart. Now I don’t want to repeat the pastor so I wont go into lots of detail, instead why not listen to the sermon on the Townhill Baptist Church website.

What struck me the most was the application. Our hearts are hardened when we do nothing. Nothing? Yes nothing.

God gives us opportunities to obey Him. To follow Him. To glorify Him. Now all it takes for our hearts to become hard is to ignore Him. To do nothing. Now this is scary stuff. Just by being a lazy bum my heart can grow hard. So often, God gives us the opportunities to be obedient, but when we reject these opportunities our hearts can grow hard. Now I know I am saved. My salvation is secure. But we are called to know Him and grow in faith, so we should do everything we can to avoid our hearts becoming hard. It just makes me think of all the opportunities God has given me to obey Him and how many times I have ignored Him.

Now for the controversial part. Surely we should be so concerned for those who are lost that they may become like Pharaoh. That their hearts will become so hard that they will go beyond saving, just like Pharaoh. It seems clear in the bible that this is possible, but thankfully it isn’t up to me to tell who is and isn’t in this position. I am called to let his Word be known among all nations. I do not judge who is and isn’t beyond saving I am just His servant. But this encourages me to tell everything one I know about Christ. Surely it must spur us on!

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
