Jesus and Rugby?

Euan_Murray_1113771cJesus is my life. He is my purpose for living and he has given me life. Not just life in this world but eternal life. This is massive and should be proclaimed as often as a possibly can. Now we have established that He is my number one there are several parts of my life fighting for second place. There is my family, my friends but it’s possibly rugby that is creeping into that second tier (maybe its on a par with family and friends). […]

I love my rugby. I love watching it, playing it, talking it. I know endless stats, I love to retell my favourite tries, the biggest hits and the great dancing sidestep of Shane Williams matched possibly by the crunching runs of Jamie Roberts and the legendary Scott Gibbs.

However, the player I want to talk about is actually Scottish (I know what you thinking…does Scotland still play rugby? Answer, yes just not amazingly).

Euan Murray is a Scottish prop forward. Three years ago he was knocked out while playing for Glasgow and actually went into a seizure. This is pretty scary stuff, and some of his team mates thought he was dying on the pitch. I can imagine the fear that those guys must have faced. However, it was this injury that led to he guy thinking about his own life and what will happen when he dies. This is the words of Murray…

“At times I was very low. What the seizure made me realise is that life is short so I started to question things. I had many questions. Like, what are we here for? And where am I going when I die? And then I started reading the Bible and then after quite a long time my life was transformed and it wasn’t me that did it, it was Jesus Christ that did it.”

Murray was transformed, saved by the precious blood. Now this guy is an inspiration to me. I have been very quiet on the rugby scene since becoming a Christian and in my last three years I haven’t played in a competitive environment really. I thought the temptations on and off the field were too strong for me and that it would be too challenging to stand firm as a Christian in this environment. It is these next lines that have encouraged me a lot and have given me something to think about…

“Over the last few years I’ve found out what a Christian should be. A Christian should be the hardest worker of all.”murray

“People have a misconception of what God is like. The image is of a benevolent old grandfather, and the Bible does say that God is love. But he’s also a God of justice and wrath and you just have to look at the life of Jesus and you will see that at times he was aggressive. So while I play rugby as an aggressive sport, there’s nothing wrong with aggression so long as it’s not malevolent. I can go and tackle someone as hard as I possibly can, but that doesn’t mean to say I hate the guy.”

“I don’t fake anything when I play. I go out to do things to the best of my abilities and I have to be as aggressive as I possibly can and hit people as hard as I possibly can. But I’m not interested in sledging or trying to belittle people. Actions speak louder than words.”

Awesome stuff. Peace out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in 1
One comment on “Jesus and Rugby?
  1. Anne says:

    Thank you for your inspiration. Rugby needs to be lifted up and the question to ask: Is rugby bringing me closer to Jesus. If the answer is no, then pray for discernment to change the rugby environment to bring players closer to their Savior. Nothing has any intrinsic value if it does not reflect God’s glory. Franciscan University of Steubenville men’s rugby team is an excellent witnessing of Christian faith on and off the field.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Archives
One lucky fella
