Not just for Men…but especially for Men

258168079_c29fcb9650_b11 Peter 3:7 (English Standard Version) ‘Likewise, husbands, live with your wives in an understanding way, showing honor to the woman as the weaker vessel, since they are heirs with you of the grace of life, so that your prayers may not be hindered.’         […]

Mark Driscoll’s latest sermon was possibly, for me, one of the best. It was about men and marriage, and men in general. How should we behave? – like Christ. Sounds simple. The problem is we do not behave like Christ. Instead we act like ‘Give’erm hell Hank’ or maybe ‘Little Boy Larry.’ We may be happy behaving in this way, but if you are happy then I recommend you stay well away from Driscoll, watch the video and you will see why.

So basically I want to say that this video was a massive encouragement. I watched this about half an hour ago with Jonny, and I just felt Driscoll has hit the nail on the head. Maybe his shouting is a little bit over the top, but maybe we need that men. Some things really stand out from what he said. We need to be men, but not worldly men but we need to be imitators of Christ. He talked about marriage and parrenthood and the way he described it was biblical and right. To be a loving husband who prays with his wife, who takes responcibility, who loves and serves. A father who wants to spend time with his boys, have daddy dates with his girls, to pray and read the bible with his kids, to love them and be there for them. One day, if the day comes, I want to be that kind of husband and that kind of father.

Another thing he talked about was taking responsibility. This can be applied outside of marriage for us guys. I am thinking about myself and I reckon I need to stand up more than I do. I go to work tomorrow and I should stand up to my responsibilities. Maybe I don’t feel like going into school and attempting to talk to the crazy teenagers about Jesus, but that is my responsibility and as a result I need to do that and do that willingly and with a hunger to glorify God.

I could go on, but really I just want you to watch this and take it in. It is great stuff and I hope it encourages you.

Peace Out.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Not just for Men…but especially for…“, posted with vodpod
About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in 1
One comment on “Not just for Men…but especially for Men
  1. shoesy says:

    Mmmm. Here is some E-Encouragement. Good for you, thats all–and good for men who believe this way and even better for men who admit it and stand up for what the world calls sexist, inequitable, and archaic–but is really, God’s design for us. Yay for Mark Driscoll.

    Yes, I know I am on a commenting spree. But its an interesting blog and I have a few hours where there is absolutely nothing else to do …

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
