Tip Well

In an anti-authoritarian culture, God calls us to obey all authorities to the extent that it doesn’t cause us to sin. Pastor Mark Driscoll unpacks this in this sermon from the Trial series.

Now, this video is just a very small excerpt from the sermon, but it made me think. While what he says came be laughed off, he has a good point. I think its a practical point that can help us. Don’t think Mark Driscoll is telling us to work for salvation or anything, to do so takes him horribly out of context. Click here for the entire sermon, it is well worth a listen.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Tip Well“, posted with vodpod
Peace out
About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in General
5 comments on “Tip Well
  1. jonnyboy87 says:

    seems we’re developing a theme of giving on the blog! It’s great that we can demonstrate God’s character in the small actions of our life and it’s shameful when we’re doing so less than non-christians. Although I think it’s a bit strange that Driscol personally pays for them – I don’t think thats needed, but Im sure it gets the cafe owners talking and hopefully thinking!

  2. I get very embarrassed going out for food with Christians. The reason is that they usually want to say grace and I often feel compelled to speak about Jesus over food (really what else is there to talk about!). Then comes the end of the meal. Not only is it embarrassing to be left ‘discussing’ whose drink cost more, but often there is no thought of including a tip! At which point i always feel like punching them for having said grace because now they are making Jesus look like a cheap skate. Truly if we knew the price he paid for us we would act differently!

  3. jamiehurd says:

    The point you make Sam is the point we need to consider. Do we want to make Jesus look like a cheap skate? Answer, no. Leaving a tip will not help us get close to God, nor will it earn salvation, but do we care about how the world see’s us? Jon mentions this in his post, but so often Christians can be seen as people who do not give, who do not care.
    I am thinking next time I am in Starbucks maybe a tip is in order. I know the coffee is already expensive but why not? We cannot expect our actions to be a good witness if we behave worse than the world. If that money makes people think twice about Christians today that can only be a good thing.

  4. gruff says:

    So when you tip in Starbucks are you going to find a way to make it clear you are a Christian doing this as well? Perhaps take a Bible with you and read it whilst drinking your coffee (perhaps you’re already doing this).
    I am being a bit facetious here. We must live to the audience of One (to coin a Soul Survivor album title from a few years back). You say that tipping won’t get us any closer to God or earn our salvation but if we are tipping for the glory of God then I think that will help us grow. Every time we do something out of obedience to God it will encourage us to do more, I reckon, and therefore to grow. What do you think?

  5. jamiehurd says:

    I think you make a useful point here. First of all it would be good for people to know we are Christians, I like to read my bible like you say and also due to being in Starbucks so often I am getting to know the staff.
    Secondly, if our attitude towards tipping is for the glory of God rather than for our own glory then it is a good thing to be doing. Now tipping is just a small part of this. I wonder what other practical things we could be doing in the workplace, in uni, with our friends, in social situations that point towards Him, and is obedient to Him?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
