ME

n568485507_3980478_9618Jesus came to save sinners. This is a fact (1 Timothy 1:15). This was the sermon on Sunday evening.

So how do we react to this as Christians? Is this the core of our message? Surely, if we truly believe that we have been saved from our sin, we need a sense of urgency? We cannot continue to be satisfied living half hearted lives, half hearted resistance to sin, half hearted worship. When Paul was saved he was amazed by what Jesus had done for him. Are we amazed?

I guess the problem is ourselves. I know in my life I struggle with self, with the temptation of living for me. Living to make me happy. 

Now I will mention two hymns here. One was mentioned on Sunday evening, one was not. 

‘Jesus Jesus all sufficient.’ He is, but we don’t treat him as such.

The second comes from, ‘Nearer still nearer.’

‘Nearer, still nearer, close to Thy heart,
Draw me, my Savior—so precious Thou art!
Fold me, oh, fold me close to Thy breast.
Shelter me safe in that “Haven of Rest”;
Shelter me safe in that “Haven of Rest.”

Nearer, still nearer, nothing I bring,
Naught as an offering to Jesus, my King;
Only my sinful, now contrite heart.
Grant me the cleansing Thy blood doth impart.
Grant me the cleansing Thy blood doth impart.

Nearer, still nearer, Lord, to be Thine!
Sin, with its follies, I gladly resign,
All of its pleasures, pomp and its pride,
Give me but Jesus, my Lord, crucified.
Give me but Jesus, my Lord, crucified.

Nearer, still nearer, while life shall last.
Till safe in glory my anchor is cast;
Through endless ages ever to be
Nearer, my Savior, still nearer to Thee;

Nearer, my Savior, still nearer to Thee!’ 

The third verse is always the hardest to sing I find, as I don’t always want to give up my sin. However, Jesus is so much better, and I realise this when I sin. Sin is decietful, and it never satisfies. But Jesus is all sufficient. Let us lean on his strength, and let us pursue sin no more. We need to pray, and we need the Spirit. An impossible task alone, but we need not be alone for God has provided in such abundance. It is not about Me but about Him. 

Peace Out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Posted in General
2 comments on “ME
  1. Hannah says:

    And to sing Give me but Jesus my Lord crucified too. It’s ALL we should desire, but I know far too often sin is far too attractive. Praise God Jesus is an all sufficient God. Challening stuff jim!

  2. Hannah says:

    I mean Praise God, that He is an all sufficient God. Should really check before I post…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
