Two observations…

So, some of you may be aware that this last week Swansea University Christian Union had its missions week. It was brilliant, and very helpful indeed.

I am sure that both myself and Jon will have more to say on the week but here is a little bit of a taster. Two highlights that I will briefly comment upon here will be on the encouragement to talk to non Christians and also the comedy genius of Europeans. […]

The first point seems pretty obvious, however it is very important. From the past three years I have noticed that CU members do not like being put in uncomfortable situations and that friendship groups are hard to crack. It is a shame, and I am as guilty as others. When we put on events we need to be warm and welcoming, so  why do we so often leave a new face sitting on their own when we could so easily make the effort. I learnt this lesson this week through he simple encouragements of some very big eastern Europeans, who you cannot say no to! They are massive. I found it a relief to be able to simply talk to new faces, but also to divert the conversations towards Christ. That is the reason we put on these events, and thanks to some gentle encouragement I engaged in some very rewarding chit chat about life and what it means. Is there a God and can I know him. Maybe we need more training on this kind of thing in CU, but I have my suspicions that students are not the only ones who struggle with this.

My second point is a big thank you to six guys; two from the Netherlands, one from Hungary, two from Bosnia and of course the dragon from Croatia. These guys were fantastic, and who would have thought that in just five days you could become some friendly with people, and miss them so much once they had left. This is the case for me, and I loved having them around, offering advice to us all, having some awesome conversations and laughing a lot at the funny stories they had to tell.

Anyhow, I will let you ponder my two observations. Enjoy this day.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in 1
3 comments on “Two observations…
  1. Larry says:

    Wales was a part of Europe too, last time I checked.

  2. sammydaviesjr says:

    and welsh people are comedy genius last time I checked… arrogant english assuming he didn’t know what he meant 🙂

    Two good observations. On the friendship point I think it’s amazing how this global family(the church) actually does what it says. Oddly it seems to work better with Christians from goodness knows where better than brothers and sisters in the same town.
    Secondly with regard sharing of our faith I suspect your inclination is correct. Why is another matter altogether.

  3. jamiehurd says:

    its funny sam but I think you are correct. At least in this country. We fail to see the big picture so often and this can lead in some instances to hostility between churches in towns and cities. What I liked was that the two guys from Bosnia were pastors, from the the same city but different churches completely. Yet they were like best friends. The population of Christians in Bosnia is so small they cannot afford to be divided.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Archives
Not a bad view from my sofa
