The ordinary youth worker

I have been a youth worker in the wonderful Welsh town of Ammanford for almost five months now. The time has flown by, and I sometimes wonder where it has gone […]

During this time I have learnt some very important lessons.

 Firstly it is not an easy job. I thought it would be a laugh, and it has been. However, it is vital to be organised, well prepared and be ready to do jobs behind the scenes, with no expectation of receiving praise for a job well done. But I love it.

Another valuable lesson is the knowledge that youth work is a long term investment. This is a lesson I have learnt slowly. I cannot expect young people to respect me just because I am this ‘amazing’ youth worker; I need to take the time to get to know people, to earn their respect. It hasn’t been easy, and I still have a long way to go on this point, but I look forward to the journey of knowing the young people who come along to the youth group.

Schools. Now, when I left school I had no intention of ever returning. But every Friday I go into a local school and I am terrorised by a large number of teenagers for half an hour, with an attempt to give them a taste of the glorious Gospel. It is difficult, and I leave with less hair every Friday as the stress slowly thins my golden locks. But it is incredible to see some fruit. After five months of going into the school we are slowly getting some of the kids coming to youth group. God is good.

So the biggest lesson that I have learnt is to lean on Gods strength, not my own. I have learnt the hard way that to think I can go it alone and everything will be ok is the dumbest thing I could ever do. I need to be prayerful, and know that all that I am doing is for the Glory of God.

So all in all I love my job. It is truly amazing, and I say that with full confidence. I now look forward to learning many more lessons and attempting to grow from my many mistakes.

peace out

Jamie

 

 

 

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in General
2 comments on “The ordinary youth worker
  1. sammydaviesjr says:

    Golden Locks? What a joker.

    You do an alright job. I’m not saying thank you…maybe ta.

  2. gruff says:

    Sammy sir you beat me to it. That word jumped out for me also, as did the sudden change in font near the end of the post. Apart from those two things – great post bro!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
