The Notebook

 

Is this love?

Is this love?

This film has been a film I have been meaning to watch for a while. I believe there is a term or expression called being ‘notebooked.’ It is the process where one watches the film and is completely consumed by the theme of the film and the expression of the story. I was, “one day you will be notebooked, and you will cry and you will love the film.” So you can understand why my expectations of this film were high. 

I watched this film just the other day, and I found little to enjoy about the film. The acting was ok, not great. The story a little stale. The outcome disappointing. I expected so much and gained so little. Don’t get me wrong I love a good romantic film, some of my favourites are ‘Two Weeks Notice’ with Hugh Grant and Sandra Bullock, ‘Notting Hill’ another great Hugh Grant film and something to add to the list ‘You’ve Got Mail,’ with Tom Hanks. Now all these films I enjoy. even though their meaning of love can also be confusing. But the Notebook angered me. The two characters meet one summer and fall in love. What this means is that they spend most of the time snogging each other and the rest arguing. This is love? 

I think was was the most upsetting part of the film is the response of most people. The idea that this is a beautiful film of love and the sad ending it has. No, not for me. It shows me everything that is wrong with love. First is that love is purely physical attraction. Second, that when you are in love nothing else matters. It doesn’t matter who you hurt on the way as long as we have each other. What, I am engaged? That wont stop me having sex with another man! This is the kind of thing that annoys me! 

Putting aside romance and all that jazz, we need to get back to what love really is. The Bible sums it up well in 1 John 4.

 ‘7Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. 8Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. 9This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son[b] into the world that we might live through him. 10This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for[c] our sins. 11Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.’

God is love! God has loved us! Let us not get mixed up with the post modern idea of love, which is really lust. Rather be consumed with God, his love. He has died for us, and we have done nothing to deserve this. God is love, and love comes from Him. It is not that God is a messenger, the deliverer of love, but love is him, it is his characteristic! There is a sermon by John Piper on this which is good, in his you must be born again series. 

So what is the point? Forget the idea of love that the notebook portrays. Instead, look at how God portrays love. It is perfect. Love does not have to be selfish, it is love. Check it out.

About

am Jamie, and I am a Christ follower. I love Jesus but more importantly he loves me and made the ultimate sacrifice of his son so that all the things I have done, and will do, have been forgiven. And now I know God, and I pursue to know him more. Motivated and transformed by his grace I live for God, to glorify him by enjoying him.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Film Review

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

December 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Archives
Bring back memories @sammoore95
